Gillet 1947 “150” 150 cc two stroke frame# 256264 engine # 194705
The first Gillets -built in Herstal near Liege, Belgium- were brought out in 1920 and were unit-design300cc two-strokes with belt drive.
The design was simple, rugged and reliable and soon the company was an established and successful motorcycle manufacturer.
Many long-distance runs were made and the two-strokes were very prominent in races.
From June to December 1926 two Frenchmen rode their Gillets for a distance of 25,000 kilometres and covered almost all continents of the world.
No real problems occurred with the machines and from December 1926 the venerable two-stroke was named the “Tour du Monde”.
Sporting four-strokes were brought out also at the end of 1926 and in 1928 the 500cc OHV “supersport” model broke many world records at the Monthlery track in France.
At the end of 1930 the first side valves were introduced and for the 1932 season the fist small capacity two stroke was introduced.
This as a result of the economic depression. Throughout the thirties these two stroke machines were successfully marketed in 100, 125 and 175 cc capacities.
After the war a new 150 cc machine was developed with bore x stroke of 55×60 mm, 3 speed gearbox and flywheel- magneto ignition and lighting system.
This post-war machine with charming pre-war technology is a well-fettled older restoration.