Wall 1914 “ Autowheel” attached to period Sparkbrook Ladies’ bicycle 118 cc aiv engine # 25968
Mr. Arthur W. Wall produced various types of motorized vehicles in the ROC Motor Works in Birmingham.
The company was financed by his brother-in-law, the famous writer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, whose fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes, had provided him with a comfortable fortune.
Initially Precision-engined motorcycles were built with very long frames that could be equipped with two speed gears of ROC manufacture.
Around 1910 a three wheeled vehicle was marketed, the Wall Tricar.
About that time Wall ventured in the field of auxiliary engines by bringing out the Autowheel, a drive unit that could be coupled to a bicycle.
The 118 cc engine was bolted to a tubular frame that was shaped around the 20 inch driven wheel and that was hinged at the front.
A petrol tank was mounted on top of the mudguard and drive was by chain , at a 6:1 reduction gearing. Starting and stopping was effected by a valve lifter.
The Autowheel became popular and thousands were sold in the years before World War 1.
Some notable differences between 1913 and 1914 models:1913 early units had tubular engine mounts front and rear, induction direct over the inlet valve and no silencer box on the front engine mount.
Later 1913 models had a platform engine mount at the back and tubular at the front.
1914 models have platform mounts front and rear, induction into the side of the cylinder block and an exhaust box in the front engine mount. For more Wall info: The Classic Motor Cycle, June 1995.
This charming piece of veteran transport is in excellent mechanical order with Sparkbrook bicycle in authentic condition.
She comes complete with Pioneer certificate.