Wall 1914 “ Autowheel” with period Swift ladies bicycle 118 cc aiv Frame number 5020 engine number 45117.
Mr. A. W. Wall produced various types of motorized vehicles in the ROC Motor Works in Birmingham.
The company was financed by the famous writer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
Initially Precision-engined motorcycles were built with very long frames that could be equipped with two speed gears of ROC manufacture. Around 1910 a three wheeled vehicle was marketed, the Wall Tricar.
About that time Wall ventured in the field of auxiliary engines by bringing out the Autowheel, a drive unit that could be coupled to a bicycle.
The Autowheel became popular and thousands were sold in the years before World War 1.
According to the identification plaque this model was build for Wall by the British Small Arms (BSA) factory.
Some notable differences between 1913 and 1914 models:1913 early units had tubular engine mounts front and rear, induction direct over the inlet valve and no silencer box on the front engine mount.
Later 1913 models had a platform engine mount at the back and tubular at the front.
1914 models have platform mounts front and rear, induction into the side of the cylinder block and an exhaust box in the front engine mount.
This charming piece of veteran transport has been partially restored and runs well.